A Rant and a Conversation

12 May

ME: They had Kerouac on the AP list (summer reading) This is so insulting – Kerouac is too cool for *MY SCHOOL NAME HERE, feel free to insert your own school’s name*!

Friend: Hm

ME: You really should read On the Road by Jack Kerouac, it’s really good.

Friend: What list is it on? 10th or 9th?

ME: Oh, it’s on AP, but –

Friend: *taken aback, acting quite offended* WHY EVER WOULD I READ AN AP BOOK?!?!? I’M NOT GOING INTO AP!!!

ME: Well its a good book… please don’t hurt me

Friend: I DON’T READ OUTSIDE OF SCHOOL.

Me: *At this point, I think I said something witty and semi-cliched, but now I forget. Fail*

This irks the hell out of me. It’s not so much that she doesn’t read outside of school (Her life, her choice, I don’t care) but that she seemed offended, even angered, by the simple thought of reading a book for FUN. I KNOW RIGHT, READING = FUN?!?!?! IT DOESN’T HAPPEN!!! Later she established that I HATE READING ANY BOOK THE SCHOOL GIVES US, yadda yadda yadda “You’re always reading the books during lunch…”

I don’t know if the thought “I read ahead because I enjoy the book that much” ever entered her brain. Probably not, seeing as she treated the idea READING = FUN like a nuclear bomb.

But then again, she IS the one with the straight A’s. I’m the one who uses my report card as a word search.

==

AT LEAST NO ONE CAN DISAGREE WITH ME: ASIMOV BE PIMPIN’ YEAH.

Also: My dad used to drink at the same bar as Kerouac.

Leave a Reply

